Emeritus Professor JP van Niekerk

Emeritus Professor ‘JP’ is a former Dean of the UCT Faculty of Health Sciences; Managing Editor of the Health and Medical Publishing Group (HMPG) that publishes the South African Medical Journal; President of the South African Medical Association; President of the Association of Medical Schools of Africa and Executive Council of the World Federation for Medical Education. He was a member of the task force that developed the World Federation for Medical Education (WFME) International Standards in Medical Education.



Professor Gregory Hussey

Gregory Hussey is currently the interim Dean in the Faculty of Healthy Sciences (FHS) at the University of Cape Town (UCT) and is also the Director of Vaccines for Africa Initiative in the FHS. He was until recently Deputy Dean responsible for research in the FHS and also held the position of Director of the Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine at UCT, from 2004 until the end of 2010. Prior to taking up the Director’s position in 2004 he was Professor and Head of Paediatric Infectious Diseases in the School of Child and Adolescent Health at UCT and consultant to the Red Cross Children’s Hospital in Cape Town.



Emeritus Professor John Terblanche

John Terblanche, a UCT Graduate, was Professor of Surgery at UCT from 1973 to 2000 and Professor and Head of the Department of Surgery at UCT and the Groote Schuur Teaching Hospitals Group from 1981 to the end of 2000. Previously he was Lecturer of Surgery, Univ. of Bristol, England from 1965 to 1967. His research interests were in liver and biliary tract disease. From 1973 to 2000 he was Co-Director of the MRC Liver Research Group (later Centre). During this time he served periods as elected President of the Internat. and African Liver Associations, The Internat. Federation of Surgical Colleges, Pan-African and South African Assoc. of Surgeons, Colleges of Medicine of SA, SA Medical Assn., Surgical Research Soc. of SA and the SA Transplant Soc. He was also awarded Honorary Fellowships of most of the international English speaking Colleges of Surgeons.



Mr. Dudley Cloete-Hopkins

Dudley Cloete-Hopkins is a former special consultant to the CEO of Syfrets Ltd., he is legally trained and has a wealth of experience in the administration of trusts and estate planning and still sits as a trustee of a number of private and public trusts. He co-founded the SA National Arts’ Festival with Professors Guy Butler and Roy Sargeant, which he chaired for 12 years; sat on and chaired the funding panel for the performing arts and theatre music for the National Arts’ Council and recently completed two terms of office as a Council member of Artscape, one as deputy chairman. He is a trustee of WWF in SA and chaired the committee which purchased the Kommetjie wetlands to link up the two halves of the Table Mountain National Park; he also chaired the Ukuvuku Trust, which initiated the clearing of alien vegetation in the Western Cape. At UCT he represents the Irma Stern Estate on the museum committee and has chaired the Cancer Research Trust since the mid ‘80s.

G modack cropMr. Goolam Modack

Goolam Modack is a qualified Chartered Accountant and currently the Deputy Head of the College Accounting at the University Of Cape Town. He teaches financial reporting at an undergraduate and postgraduate level and has co-authored a number of financial reporting textbooks. Goolam is a non-executive director of companies and a member of the adjudicating panel of the annual EY Excellence in Integrated Reporting Awards.